So, I have this habit. I will become stuck on a particular album for weeks at a time, sometimes months, and I will listen to this album until I hate myself. Or, alternately, until anyone who spends any length of time with me hates me. No big. I can categorize most of my life around the albums I was playing into the ground at the time. Moving on. Right now, I’m obsessed with Peripheral Vision, second-album release by American rock band Turnover.

turnover_peripheralvision.jpg

Part dream pop, part plain ol’ indie rock, Peripheral Vision is one part ambiance and one part melancholy, wholly hypnotizing. Personally, the album feels like a dreamier version of The Goo Goo Dolls; in particular, the track Dizzy On the Comedown feels like something that’s been influenced by TGGD’s Dizzy Up the Girl, but maybe that’s just me. In any case, if you have a taste for minutely mournful music, it is my strong recommendation that you check out Dizzy on the Comedown to get a taste of the album. Perhaps in a dimly lit room or a particularly gray day, to really get the feel of it. If it doesn’t make you feel like new again, I’m not sure what will.

3 thoughts on “Peripheral Vision

  1. So as I’m writing this, I’m listening to Dizzy on the Comedown. I found the entire album and listened to a few songs and you are right. It does have a very refreshing and rehabilitating essence to the music. It is really nice background music to have on while roaming around or even writing. It doesn’t intrude on my mind and it just really settling to listen to. This type of music isn’t what I normally listen to but it is what one of my closest friends listens to and it reminds me of them and our friend groups greatest moments. It seems like this is good memory music, it allows you to attach specific things to the rhythms and it carries you through the happy moments of times when.

    Like

  2. This song was so chill. Like, it made me wish I was driving down Q street in Omaha at 11 at night in the summer, with my windows rolled down, and Han in the passenger seat. It made me miss high school, and the friends I had then, who are now halfway across the country.

    Although I had never heard this song before, it made me weirdly nostalgic. I miss listening to this song with my friends, even though that has never actually happened. I’m sure I’m not making any sense, but this song really moved me, so thank you for showing it to me.

    Like

  3. I love to hear that you go through phases, as they can get pretty intense and I know how it feels! I got into an Indie Rock phase last year and I actually listened to Dizzy on the Comedown a few times. I can definitely see how one could listen to Turnover nonstop, they have a great sound in a musical era that doesn’t seem to care much about the lyrics anymore.
    I was surprised to learn that they are a newer band since their sound and vibe comes off as a late 80’s early 90’s band. This album was a great one to blog about and I’m excited to read more about your phases!

    Like

Leave a Reply

