I was going to do this post as a double feature, coming at you guys with two recommendations, but the post just got too long. So, here is part one of my Pop Punk Passion Post. Mmmm. Alliterations are tasty.

To provide some context, I have a confession; I have a deep and burning (like, passion-of-a-thousand-suns kind-of-burning) passion for pop punk music. It’s not, like, “cool”, but it was my first musical love, and I can’t shake it. That said, my pop punk tastes have evolved since my adolescence, and with these posts I’d like to talk about two bands that maturely hold their own in a genre dominated by purple lyrics and predictable music patterns.

Let’s get started.

I’ll begin with the band that led me to the other, so first on stage is Joyce Manor. Joyce Manor is, undoubtedly, heavier on their punk than on their pop. They’re a little noisier than the typical pop punk band, and they’re just fun while remaining in a realm I would confidently call accessible to most people. Some songs are clearly more serious than others, which lends them a delightful blend of variety. Joyce Manor is also, almost frustratingly so, respectful to their music. What does that even mean? Of their FOUR studio albums, only ONE is longer than twenty minutes, and even that one is only twenty-four minutes long. The band believes in playing the music while it’s interesting, and refuses to let their songs get repetitive. This means most of their songs are two minute bursts of brilliance before the next is coming along.

The most punk thing about these guys may be their stance on stage-diving. Now, I don’t know how many of you reading this have ever been to a rock show (particularly one in a small venue, like a bar or a basement), but stage-diving and moshing can go from “fun” to “dangerous” faster than you can imagine, and Joyce Manor won’t put up with it. They respect their fans, and they don’t want their fans harmed at a show they’re responsible for, so they’ve been known to pull a full-stop on a set they’re performing to stop the crowd from doing these things. Which is awesome.

Now for the hard part.

This and this show their fun energy. This shows their more serious side. This is just one of my favorite songs by them. Below are the albums these four songs come from, which happen to be my favorite two albums. I know, what a coincidence.
joycemanor2             joycemanor

I know that’s a lot of links. I’m cringing in apology, I swear. It should be mentioned that I believe, wholeheartedly, that every album (not just by this band, I mean all albums) should be a cohesive project and listened to at once. This isn’t always feasible, but S/T and Never Hung Over Again, my two favorites by these guys, can be listened to in under twenty minutes; for me, that means I can finish them as I do dishes or grab a shower. All of that to say, if you’re into their sound, they are a band that deserves your attention.

5 thoughts on “Pop Punk Passion, Part 1

  1. I really enjoy their music! I understand your frustration on how short the songs are. I would just get used to the song and then it would end before I wanted it to. I like being introduced to new bands and you always present ones that I have never heard of before. Where do you find all of these great artists? Do you go to concerts and they are performing or do you just come across them from movie soundtracks or other areas on the internet? I resign myself to what is on the radio so I don’t discover or listen to anything like this.

    Like

    1. I’m glad you like them! And after part two of this, I plan on doing a post about all of my music sources, since you and Alex asked about them (maybe it can draw you away from the radio?). I hope it won’t disappoint!

      Like

  2. Joyce Manor is someone that I constantly come back to, I have all of these phases but when I get bored or haven’t picked up a new phase yet, Manor is one that I can always turn to. And I know exactly what you mean about how moshing can become dangerous; I have never heard of a band that cares so much about the safety of their fans, that they are willing to stop their show! I’m actually on the opposite side of Catherine, I haven’t listened to the radio in over three years, the only new music I get is when I actively seek it out, so I love getting your recommendations! Can’t wait for Part 2!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so awesome that they’re already in your life though! I wasn’t expecting that! And I fully concur, Joyce Manor is a band that you can easily come back to, over and over again.

      Like

  3. I don’t know if you’ve ever been to River Riot (it’s a concert event put on every year in Iowa), but I’ve gone a few times and been knocked down by people moshing and crowd surfing (very annoying). I love that they have rules against that, it makes them seem super cool.

    And I get what you mean about not being able to get over adolescent obsessions. I was a little emo kid in middle school, and I still have a soft spot in my heart for “emo” music, even if it’s not “cool” anymore (although it could be argued it was never cool lol). I love how you keep introducing me to new music, keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

