Steve who? Steve Jobs, that’s who.

“Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.”

Thanks, Steve.

And it’s not just work- education is a part of this too. I started UNL three years ago as a starry-eyed freshman in the journalism department, still aware that I wanted to work with books, thinking I would go into publishing. I made the decision to double-major the next semester as an English major, and the semester after that I promptly dropped journalism, aware that I hated it and that it didn’t fulfill me the way I had expected it to.

While I think he’s right about what will bring someone satisfaction, it’s also important to understand that not everyone has the opportunity to find work they love and are satisfied in. Some people work to feed families, or stay in jobs they hate because of the medical benefits they can’t afford otherwise. People work for different reasons, a point that I believe was also brought out by the multiple class panels over the semester.

Some people are pursuing a goal, and some people are pursuing a feeling, and some people are pursuing… well, maybe they don’t know, but like Steve said, they’ll know it when they find it.

This class has taught me that it’s okay not to know exactly what you want to do, or if you think you do know and change your mind later. Work becomes such an ingrained part of our lives that it often does pervade the deepest parts of us; when I was working retail, I had multiple mornings where I woke up feeling like I never slept, because I had dreamt of folding t-shirts, all night long. (I only use dreamt because I can’t use “nightmare” as a verb.) Because work can reach such deep parts of us, this class encouraged me to think about work beyond the necessity and practicality of it. It encouraged me to think of those elements alongside more abstract and theoretical aspects, because they do tend to exist side-by-side.

I was already interested in archival work before this semester, and I already knew I wanted to enter the career field after my graduation next spring as a librarian. That hasn’t changed, although now I think I’ve explored why my interests lay in those areas and what they do for me intellectually and how they satisfy me emotionally. Perhaps this would have eventually happened, even without this class. I had already understood my own decision to be an English major and a librarian differently. “I love books” and “I want to work with books” eventually became “I love expanding my understanding of different circumstances” and “It’s important to me that everyone have unfettered and unimpeded access to knowledge and information”, but I believe it’s safe to say that, even if I had understood my decisions on a deeper level without this class, it would have come at a later date, and possibly slower, than this class sparked.

So long, and thanks for all the fish.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Steve Was Right (Final Course Reflection)

  1. I think looking at different ways that people view the “why” of working is really important in understanding other peoples values. The “work to live” or “live to work” aspects are two that a lot of people are gravitating toward and figuring out which side of the line they fall on. Classes like these have the opportunities to help some students figure out what they want to do or maybe to help narrow their field down to one or two actual options instead of a broad field like English. I also think that this is the reason why everyone has to continue to take the “ACE” courses, even if the classes don’t pertain to their major. It is a way to help either narrow down or expand peoples options for what they want to continue studying or not.

    Like

  2. It’s really cool that you know exactly what field you want to go into, that’s something that I’ve struggled with my entire school career. This class has forced me as well to think about what work means to me, and I like how you wrote about it in this post. Different people have different passions, and it’s important to try and find your own, which I think you’ve done.

    Side note: nice Hitchhiker’s quote, that was a nice touch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

